Header Ads

Common vegetarian foods that are actually non-vegetarian


We Indians love soup. But do you know your favourite Manchow soup is actually non-vegetarian? If you are having this soup in restaurants then beware. Restaurants often add sauces to your soup which are made using fish or are fish sauces. So, if you think you are having something vegetarian, you are not! Next time do ask before ordering.


Our typical Indian lunch-out is incomplete without naan. But how the hell are naan non-veg? Well, not all naans are non-veg but many recipes for authentic naan call for use of eggs for kneading the dough to keep it soft and give it good elasticity. That's absolutely fine if you're an eggitarian but dear vegetarian, you better find some other option for your paneer tikkas.

Indians have taken to cheese like a fish to water and we now add cheese to each and every recipe! So you have cheese pav-bhaji, cheese poha, cheese dosa and even cheese paratha! But did you know that the cheese you love might contain rennet, which is an enzymes derived from animal guts. Unfortunately for you, the cheese packets do not list the actual enzyme used but just a generic term "enzyme"

Remember that advertisement of 'heart-friendly' oil? That's actually not heart-friendly at all! Oils and juices that contain Omega-3 acids, advertised to be good for your heart are derived from fish oil. Also, some juices claim to have Vitamin D which is derived from Lanolin, obtained from sheep.

We all know what the main ingredient of jelly is. That's right! Gelatin. And gelatin is an animal derivative. However, in recent times, gelatin is being replaced by starch or other similar food products and chemicals so you might just be safe.
Powered by Blogger.